skip to main content

On Tour: Hedda Gabler

By Henrik Ibsen
In a new version by Patrick Marber

From October 2017

UK Tour

On Tour: Hedda Gabler

"I've no talent for life."

Just married. Bored already. Hedda longs to be free…

Hedda and Tesman have just returned from their honeymoon and the relationship is already in trouble.
Trapped but determined, Hedda tries to control those around her, only to see her own world unravel.

This acclaimed new production of Ibsen’s masterpiece Hedda Gabler embarks on a UK and Ireland tour following a sold out run at the National Theatre.

Adapted by Olivier Award-winning playwright Patrick Marber (Closer, Three Days in the Country) and directed by Olivier and Tony Award®-winner Ivo van Hove (A View from the Bridge), who made his National Theatre debut with this bold and modern new production. Lizzy Watts plays the title role of the free-spirited Hedda Gabler, one of the greatest dramatic parts in theatre and regarded as the female Hamlet.

Follow the Hedda Gabler Tour on Twitter
Follow the Hedda Gabler Tour on Facebook

Please check with individual theatres for box office information and on-sale dates
Further tour dates to be announced

Theatre Royal Plymouth
Monday 2 – Saturday 7 October 2017
Book tickets for the Theatre Royal

Festival Theatre Edinburgh
Tuesday 17 – Saturday 21 October 2017
Book tickets for Festival Theatre Edinburgh

Leicester Curve
Monday 23 – Saturday 28 October 2017
Book tickets for Leicester Curve

The Lowry Salford
Tuesday 31 October – Saturday 4 November 2017
Book tickets for The Lowry

Norwich Theatre Royal
Tuesday 7 – Saturday 11 November 2017
Book tickets for Norwich Theatre Royal

Hull New Theatre
Monday 13 – Saturday 18 November 2017
Book tickets for Hull New Theatre

His Majesty’s Theatre Aberdeen
Tuesday 21 – Saturday 25 November 2017
Book tickets for His Majesty’s Theatre

Northampton Royal & Derngate
Tuesday 28 November – Saturday 2 December 2017
Book tickets for Northampton Royal & Derngate

Theatre Royal Glasgow
Monday 15 – Saturday 20 January 2018
Book tickets for Glasgow Theatre Royal

Grand Theatre, Wolverhampton
Tuesday 23 – Saturday 27 January 2018
Book tickets for the Grand Theatre

New Victoria Theatre, Woking
Mon 29 Jan – Sat 3 Feb 2018
Book tickets for Woking New Victoria Theatre

Nottingham Theatre Royal
Monday 5 – Saturday 10 February 2018
Book tickets for Nottingham Theatre Royal

Newcastle Theatre Royal
Tuesday 13 – Saturday 17 February 2018
Book tickets for Newcastle Theatre Royal

Grand Opera House York
Tue 20 – Sat 24 Feb 2018
Book tickets for York Grand Opera House

Milton Keynes Theatre
Tuesday 27 February – Saturday 3 March 2018
Book tickets for Milton Keynes Theatre

Hedda Gabler on Tour trailer

This acclaimed new production of Ibsen’s masterpiece Hedda Gabler embarks on a UK and Ireland tour following a sold out run at the National Theatre.

More info

Cast

5 star rating

Dark, bold and devastating. This Hedda is a triumph.

Mail on Sunday
5 star rating

A Hedda unlike any I have ever seen.

WhatsOnStage
4 star rating

An invigorating production which forces us to see Ibsen's masterpiece with fresh eyes.

Guardian
4 star rating

A ferocious production.

Sunday Times

Photo of Lizzy Watts by Hugo Glendinning

Help Centre

For general ticket information

Browse the frequently asked questions for tickets

For general ticket information

Browse the frequently asked questions for tickets