skip to main content

On Tour: My Country; a work in progress

in the words of people across the UK and Carol Ann Duffy

From March 2017
Running Time: tbc

UK Tour

On Tour: My Country; a work in progress

In the days following the Brexit vote, a team from the National Theatre of Great Britain spoke to people nationwide, aged 9 to 97, to hear their views on the country we call home. In a series of deeply personal interviews, they heard opinions that were honest, emotional, funny, and sometimes extreme. My Country; a work in progress puts their words centre stage.

Britannia calls a meeting, to listen to her people. Caledonia, Cymru, East Midlands, North East, Northern Ireland and the South West bring the voices of their regions. The debate is passionate, the darts are sharp, stereotypes nailed and opinions divided. Can there ever be a United Kingdom?

These real testimonials are interwoven with speeches from party leaders of the time in this groundbreaking new play by Carol Ann Duffy, Poet Laureate, and director Rufus Norris.

My County; a work in progress opens in London before playing at venues around the country.

Created in collaboration with; Citizens Theatre, Curve, Derry Playhouse, Live Theatre, National Theatre Wales, Sage Gateshead, Salisbury Playhouse and Strike A Light Festival in association with Cusack Projects Limited.

UK Tour Dates

For further information including times and prices visit the individual theatre websites listed below.

Citizens Theatre, Glasgow.
Tue 28 March – Sat 1 April 2017.
Book tickets for the Citizens Theatre Glasgow.

Derry Playhouse
Tue 4 – Sat 8 April 2017
Book tickets for the Derry Playhouse

Liverpool Playhouse.
Tue 11 – Sat 15 April 2017.
Book tickets for the Liverpool Playhouse.

HOME, Manchester.
Tue 18 – Sat 22 April 2017.
Book tickets for HOME, Manchester.

Curve, Leicester.
Tue 25 – Sat 29 April 2017.
Book tickets for Leicester Curve.

Sherman Theatre, Cardiff.
Tue 2 – Sat 6 May 2017.
Book tickets for Sherman Theatre, Cardiff.

Strike A Light, Gloucester
Mon 8 & Tue 9 May 2017
Book tickets for Strike a Light, Gloucester

Traverse Theatre, Edinburgh.
Thu 11 – Sat 13 May 2017.
Book tickets for the Traverse Theatre, Edinburgh.

Birmingham REP.
Tue 16 – Sat 20 May 2017.
Book tickets Birmingham Repertory Theatre.

Warwick Arts Centre.
Thu 25 – Sat 27 May 2017.
Book tickets for Warwick Arts Centre.

Theatr Clwyd
Tue 30 May – Sat 3 June 2017
Book tickets for Theatr Clwyd

Cambridge Arts Theatre.
Mon 12 – Sat 17 June 2017.
Book tickets for Cambridge Arts Theatre.

Theatre Royal Stratford East.
Mon 19 June – Sat 1 July 2017.
Book tickets for Theatre Royal, Stratford East.

My Country Rehearsal Gallery

Rufus Norris and Pádraig Cusack on My Country

The project producer, Pádraig Cusack, and the National's Director, Rufus Norris, talk about My Country.

Listen now