skip to main content

Absolute Hell

by Rodney Ackland

From 18 April
Running Time: tbc

Absolute Hell

An intoxicating plunge into post-war Soho.

Bomb-blasted London. A Soho den in the hangover from World War II, where members drink into the darkness, night after night. Lying, fighting and seducing, these lost souls and bruised lovers struggle from the rubble of war towards an unknown future.

Absolute Hell, Rodney Ackland’s extraordinarily provocative play, was condemned as ‘a libel on the British people’ when first performed in 1952. Now it emerges as an intoxicating plunge into post-war Soho; full of despair and longing.

Joe Hill-Gibbins returns to the NT to direct a large ensemble in this new production of Absolute Hell.

 

Talks and events

Censorship in Post-War Theatre Fri 27 Apr, 5.30pm, £7 (£5 concessions)
Absolute Hell - British Theatre after the Blitz Tue 15 May, 2pm, £30 (£20/£7.50 concessions)
Soho Then and Now Wed 16 May, 5.30pm, £7 (£5 concessions)
Actors Kate Fleetwood and Jonathan Slinger on Absolute Hell, Wed 13 June, 4pm
Director Joe Hill-Gibbins and Designer Lizzie Clachan on Absolute Hell, Wed 13 June, 5.30pm
Night and the City (film screening), Mon 11 June. 5pm

Public booking for new performances opens on Friday 16 March, at 8.30am

Members get access to tickets in advance

See all booking dates and find out more about membership

Membership banner with production image from Amadeus, with Adam Gillen and Lucian Msamati

Cast

Production team

Absolute Hell ticket prices and Access performances

Ticket prices

Monday - Thursday eves, all matinees
£62, £54, £44, £31, £15
Friday & Saturday eves
£67, £58, £48, £34, £18
Ways to save
Previews 18 - 24 April

£47 - £15

Access Performances

Audio-described performances, for blind and visually impaired people:
Friday 18 May, 7pm
Saturday 19 May, 1.30pm preceded by a Touch Tour

Captioned performances, for deaf and hard of hearing
Monday 14 May, 7pm
Tuesday 22 May, 1.30pm
Tuesday 12 June, 7pm
Wednesday 13 June, 7pm