skip to main content

Young Technicians 2021

Young people taking part in a Young Techs workshop with NT staff.

Young Technicians 2021

This FREE course for 14-18-year-olds will be delivered online via Zoom.

You must be available for all the course dates and times listed below to take part.

Please apply using the link below.

Are you interested in lighting, sound, video and stage? Are you aged between 14 and 18? Then our technical theatre online workshops could be for you!

The National Theatre Young Technicians programme offers an exciting opportunity to develop your skills and learn all about a variety of backstage and off-stage roles from top industry professionals.

National Theatre Young Technicians will run for ten sessions on Tuesday evenings between 12 January 2021 and 23 March 2021. In these online workshops, you will be introduced to the basics of technical theatre – including lighting, sound and video – through demonstrations, talks and practical activities.

To apply please complete the application by Wednesday 16 December. This is your chance to tell us about your interest in any element of technical theatre. You can write, record or film your answers (within the word and time limits).

Workshop dates:

Tuesday 12 Jan, 5–7pm

Tuesday 19 Jan, 5–7pm

Tuesday 26 Jan, 5–7pm

Tuesday 2 Feb, 5–7pm

Tuesday 9 Feb, 5–7pm

Tuesday 23 Feb, 5–7pm

Tuesday 2 Mar, 5–7pm

Tuesday 9 Mar, 5–7pm

Tuesday 16 Mar, 5–7pm

Tuesday 23 Mar, 5–7pm

As part of this course you will also watch a recording of a National Theatre production.

This year we have many fewer places available on the Young People’s Programme, and so we are furthering our commitment to diversity and access by concentrating recruitment in three areas that we recognise have been most affected by the events of this year: young people of colour, young people from working class backgrounds and young people with disabilities. If you have any questions about the application process or access needs please email us