skip to main content

On Tour: The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time

Based on the novel by Mark Haddon
Adapted by Simon Stephens

From September 2020
Running Time: 2 hours 30 mins including interval

UK & Ireland Tour

5 star rating

A beautiful and dazzlingly inventive show about the wonders of life.

Evening Standard
5 star rating

Astonishing and Unmissable.

Sunday Express
5 star rating

A phenomenal combination of storytelling and spectacle.

The Times
5 star rating

A beautiful, ingenious and deeply-felt production.

Daily Telegraph

On Tour: The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time

The National Theatre’s smash hit production of The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time begins a UK tour this September!

Winner of the Olivier Award and Tony Award® for Best Play, The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time brings Mark Haddon’s international best-selling novel to thrilling life on stage in a dazzling adaptation by two-time Olivier Award winner Simon Stephens and directed by Olivier and Tony Award® winner Marianne Elliott (War Horse, Company).

Fifteen-year-old Christopher has an extraordinary brain - exceptional at maths, while ill-equipped to interpret everyday life. He has never ventured alone beyond the end of his road, he detests being touched and he distrusts strangers. When he falls under suspicion for killing his neighbour’s dog, it takes him on a journey that upturns his world.

Hailed as ‘extraordinary,’ ‘dazzling’ and ‘unmissable’ by Time Magazine, The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time is a theatrical phenomenon simply not to be missed.

Suitable for 11yrs+. There is some strong language in this production, as there is in the novel. This occurs at the very beginning of the show and infrequently at other points during the show.

Please note: This production contains strobe lighting, smoke effects, high intensity video & light effects, and loud sound effects.

Tour venues

The Lowry, Salford
Friday 18 September – Saturday 3 October 2020
Visit The Lowry's website to book

Sunderland Empire
Tuesday 6 October – Saturday 10 October 2020
Visit Sunderland Empire’s website to book

Bristol Hippodrome
Tuesday 13 October – Saturday 17 October 2020
​Visit Bristol Hippodrome’s website to book

Birmingham Hippodrome
Tuesday 20 October – Saturday 24 October 2020
Public Booking: 27 April. ​Visit Birmingham Hippodrome’s website for more details.

Theatre Royal Plymouth
Tuesday 3 November – Saturday 7 November 2020
Visit Theatre Royal Plymouth's website to book

Mayflower Theatre, Southampton
Tuesday 19 January – Saturday 23 January
Visit the Mayflower Theatre’s website to book

Liverpool Empire
Tuesday 26 January – Saturday 30 January
Visit Liverpool Empire’s website to book

Festival Theatre, Edinburgh
Tuesday 2 February – Saturday 6 February​
Public Booking: 27 April. Please visit the Festival Theatre’s website for more information

Bord Gais Energy Theatre, Dublin
Tuesday 9 February – Saturday 13 February 2021
Public Booking to be announced. ​Visit Bord Gais Energy Theatre’s website for more information

Grand Opera House, Belfast
Tuesday 16 – Saturday 20 February 2021
Visit the Grand Opera House's website to book

Theatre Royal Nottingham
Tuesday 23 – Saturday 27 February 2021
​Book tickets for Theatre Royal Nottingham

New Theatre Oxford
Tuesday 9 – Saturday 13 March 2021
​Visit the New Theatre's website to book

More venues to be announced

 

London performances

The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time also returns to London this Autumn. Click here for more information and to book tickets for the London performances.

 

Production team