skip to main content

Antony & Cleopatra

by William Shakespeare

From 18 Sep to 19 Jan
Running Time: tbc

Antony & Cleopatra

Ralph Fiennes and Sophie Okonedo play the famous fated couple. Simon Godwin (Twelfth NightMan and Superman, The Beaux' Stratagem) directs.

Caesar and his assassins are dead. General Mark Antony now rules alongside his fellow defenders of Rome. But at the fringes of a war-torn empire the Egyptian Queen Cleopatra and Mark Antony have fallen fiercely in love.

 

In a tragic fight between devotion and duty, obsession becomes a catalyst for war. Politics and passion are violently intertwined in Shakespeare’s gripping tale of power.

‘Eternity was in our lips and eyes.’

National Theatre Live broadcast on Thu 6 Dec

Production supported by Areté Foundation / Betsy & Ed Cohen, Mary M. Miner and the Antony & Cleopatra production appeal.

 

Talks and events

Director Simon Godwin Mon 1 Oct, 5.30pm
Setting the Scene: Antony & Cleopatra Tue 16 Oct, Wed 5 Dec or Thu 10 Jan, 5.30pm
Tim McMullan on Playing Enobarbus, Thu 29 November, 6pm
A Short History of the Roman Empire, Fri 7 Dec, 5.30pm
Exploring Antony & Cleopatra at the NT Mon 10 Dec, 10am – 3.30pm, or 11.30am – 5pm
Actors Ralph Fiennes and Sophie Okonedo Fri 11 Jan, 3pm
Antony & Cleopatra Student Conference Tue 15 January, 10.30am – 3.30pm
Cleopatra, Queen of Egypt, Wed 16 Jan, 5.30pm

Official Hotel Partner

Edwardian Hotels

Cast

Production team

Photography (Sophie Okonedo and Ralph Fiennes) by Jason Bell.

Help Centre

For general ticket information

Browse the frequently asked questions for tickets

For general ticket information

Browse the frequently asked questions for tickets