skip to main content

My Country; a work in progress

in the words of people across the UK and Carol Ann Duffy

28 February – 22 March
Running Time: tbc

My Country; a work in progress

In the days after the EU referendum, the National Theatre began a nationwide listening project. A team of interviewers spoke to people around the country – from Leicester to Derry/Londonderry and Merthyr Tydfil to Glasgow – to hear their views of the country and town they live in, their lives, their future, and the referendum.

Using exact words taken from the interviews, My Country; a work in progress puts those conversations centre stage. Rufus Norris, Director of the National Theatre, collaborates with Carol Ann Duffy, Poet Laureate, to create this new performance which opens in London before playing at venues around the country.

Created in collaboration with; Citizens Theatre, Curve, Derry Playhouse, Live Theatre, National Theatre Wales, Sage Gateshead, Salisbury Playhouse and Strike A Light Festival in association with Cusack Projects Limited.

 

Related Talk

Pádraig Cusack and Rufus Norris on My Country Tuesday 14 March, 6.30pm, Dorfman Theatre

UK Tour

My Country; a work in progress will begin a UK Tour immediately following its run in the Dorfman Theatre.  Click here to visit the tour page.

Citizens Theatre, Glasgow. Tue 28 March - Sat 1 April 2017. Book tickets.
Derry Playhouse, Tue 4 – Sat 8 April 2017. Book tickets
Liverpool Playhouse. Tue 11 - Sat 15 April 2017. Book tickets.
HOME, Manchester. Tue 18 - Sat 22 April 2017. Book tickets.
Curve, Leicester. Tue 25 - Sat 29 April 2017. Book tickets.
Sherman Theatre, Cardiff. Tue 2 - Sat 6 May 2017. Book tickets.
Strike A Light, Gloucester, Mon 8 & Tue 9 May 2017. Book tickets
Traverse Theatre, Edinburgh. Thu 11 - Sat 13 May 2017. Book tickets.
Birmingham REP. Tue 16 - Sat 20 May 2017. Book tickets.
Warwick Arts Centre. Thu 25 - Sat 27 May 2016. Book tickets.
Theatre Clwyd, Tue 3 May – Sat 3 June. Tickets on sale soon
Cambridge Arts Theatre. Mon 12 - Sat 17 June 2017. Book tickets.
Theatre Royal Stratford East. Mon 19 June - Sat 1 July 2017. Book tickets.

Cast

Ticket prices

All performances
£35 - £15

Access performances
Audio described performance
Saturday 11 March at 2pm, prceeded by a Touch Tour at 12.30pm

Captioned performance
Monday 20 March at 8pm