skip to main content

My Country; a work in progress

in the words of people across the UK and Carol Ann Duffy

28 February to 22 March 2017
Running Time: 1 hour 20 minutes. There is no interval

My Country; a work in progress

Britannia calls a meeting to listen to her people. Caledonia, Cymru, East Midlands, North East, Northern Ireland and the South West bring the voices of their regions. The debate is passionate, the darts are sharp, stereotypes nailed and opinions divided. Can there ever be a United Kingdom?

 

Can't see My Country at the NT? See it at Theatre Royal Stratford East, 19 June – 1 July.

Full details of UK Tour to right. 

In the days following the Brexit vote, a team from the National Theatre of Great Britain spoke to people nationwide, aged 9 to 97, to hear their views on the country we call home. In a series of deeply personal interviews, they heard opinions that were honest, emotional, funny, and sometimes extreme.

These real testimonials are interwoven with speeches from party leaders of the time in this new play by Carol Ann Duffy, Poet Laureate, and director Rufus Norris.

My Country; a work in progress opens in London before playing at venues around the country.

Created in collaboration with; Citizens Theatre, Curve, Derry Playhouse, Live Theatre, National Theatre Wales, Sage Gateshead, Salisbury Playhouse and Strike A Light Festival in association with Cusack Projects Limited.

 

Related Talk

Pádraig Cusack and Rufus Norris on My Country Tuesday 14 March, 6.30pm, Dorfman Theatre
bardeblah Thursday 16 March, 9.40pm, Cottesloe Room

UK Tour

My Country; a work in progress will begin a UK tour immediately following its run in the Dorfman Theatre.  Click here to visit the tour page.

Citizens Theatre, Glasgow, Tue 28 March – Sat 1 April 2017
Book tickets for Citizens Theatre
Derry Playhouse, Tue 4 – Sat 8 April 2017
Book tickets for Derry Playhouse
Liverpool Playhouse, Tue 11 – Sat 15 April 2017
Book tickets for Liverpool Playhouse
HOME, Manchester, Tue 18 – Sat 22 April 2017
Book tickets for HOME
Curve, Leicester, Tue 25 – Sat 29 April 2017
Book tickets for Curve
Sherman Theatre, Cardiff, Tue 2 – Sat 6 May 2017
Book tickets for Sherman Theatre
Strike A Light, Gloucester, Mon 8 & Tue 9 May 2017
Book tickets for Strike A Light
Traverse Theatre, Edinburgh, Thu 11 – Sat 13 May 2017
Book tickets for Traverse Theatre
Birmingham REP, Tue 16 – Sat 20 May 2017
Book tickets for Birmingham REP
Warwick Arts Centre, Thu 25 – Sat 27 May 2017
Book tickets for Warwick Arts Centre
Theatre Clwyd, Tue 3 May – Sat 3 June 2017
Book tickets for Theatr Clwyd
Cambridge Arts Theatre, Mon 12 – Sat 17 June 2017.
Book tickets for Canbridge Arts Theatre
Theatre Royal Stratford East, Mon 19 June – Sat 1 July 2017
Book tickets Theatre Royal Stratford East

Uncategorisable brilliance. A political intervention.

Independent

Compassionate, funny and insightful

WhatsOnStage

Generous, open and sympathetic

Financial Times

Cast

Production team

My Country Rehearsal Gallery

Ticket prices

All performances
£35 - £15

Access performances
Audio described performance
Saturday 11 March at 2pm, prceeded by a Touch Tour at 12.30pm

Captioned performance
Monday 20 March at 8pm