skip to main content

History of Theatre course

Wed 18 Sep, Wed 25 Sep, Wed 2 Oct, Wed 9 Oct, Wed 16 Oct, 10.30am
Running Time: 2 hours each week

Find out about five periods of theatre history in this five-week course led by experts in each era. Each session offers an overview of the subject, before focusing on one play or practitioner in more detail.

Week 1 (Wed 18 September) – Greek theatre with Lucy Jackson.
   Exploring tragedy, comedy, the chorus and masks. The second half of the session will focus on Euripides’ masterpiece Medea

Week 2 (Wed 25 September) – Shakespeare with Anjna Chouhan. 
   Looking at Shakespeare in his social and theatrical context, connecting the world he knew with his works. The second half of the session will focus on Hamlet

Week 3 (Wed 2 October) – 19th-century drama with Kirsten Shepherd-Barr. 
   Covering the key forms of 19th century theatre such as realism, naturalism, melodrama, panto, and spectacle, and playwrights like Ibsen and Chekhov. The second half of the session will focus on Hedda Gabler

Week 4 (Wed 9 October) – Early 20th-century practitioners with Clare Finburgh.
   Looking at practitioners including Jarry, Stanislavski, Brecht and Artaud. The second half of the session will focus on Brecht's Mother Courage

Week 5 (Wed 16 October) – 1950s to today with Dan Rebellato.
   Covering British theatre from the 1950s to present day, including writers such as Harold Pinter, David Hare, Caryl Churchill and Sarah Kane. The second half of the session will focus on Caryl Churchill's Top Girls
 
Tickets £150 (£140 senior citizens / £90 students, under 18s and entry pass members)

An Image of Benedict Cumberbatch playing Hamlet

History of Theatre Course - Archive Gallery

Talks, interviews, readings, discussions, workshops and events

View all events.

Help Centre

For general ticket information

Browse the frequently asked questions for tickets

For general ticket information

Browse the frequently asked questions for tickets