Mark Henderson

Mark Henderson is a lighting designer with over 30 years’ experience working extensively for all the major theatre, dance, and opera companies in the UK. He has lit over 70 West End productions and over 25 on Broadway.

For the National: Paradise, Peter Gynt, Young Chekhov, The Hard Problem, 50 Years on Stage, The Last of the Haussmans, Antigone, Detroit, 13, The Kitchen, Emperor and Galilean, One Man, Two Guvnors, Rocket to the Moon, After the Dance, Really Old, Like Forty Five, The Habit of Art, Burnt by the Sun, Gethsemane, Fram, Never So Good, Much Ado About Nothing, Chatroom/Citizenship, A Matter of Life and Death, The Alchemist, The Life of Galileo, Playing with Fire, The Present of an Empty Room, The UN Inspector, The False Servant, The History Boys, Mourning Becomes Electra, Democracy, Edmond, His Girl Friday, Henry V, All My Sons

In London’s West End: Girl from the North Country (also Broadway), Man in the White Suit, Don Juan in Soho, White Christmas, Lady Day at Emerson’s Bar & Grill, ENRON, Private Lives, Amy’s View, Copenhagen, The Iceman Cometh, The Judas Kiss, Chitty Chitty Bang Bang, Our House, Grease, Spend Spend Spend, Neville’s Island, Follies, Passion, The Sound of Music, Hay Fever, The Bodyguard, Sweeney Todd, Funny Girl

Other recent work includes: Standing at the Sky’s Edge at Sheffield Crucible; The Unfriend, The Life of Galileo, Oklahoma!, Flowers for Mrs Harris, Present Laughter, Forty Years On, Sweet Bird of Youth and Gypsy at Chichester; The Nutcracker for the Royal Ballet; Light in the Piazza at the Royal Festival Hall; Sweet Charity and Les Liaisons Dangereuses at the Donmar; The Boy in the Dress at the RSC; Fanny and Alexander at the Old Vic; Don Carlo at the Royal Opera House; Sunset Boulevard for ENO and on Broadway; Young Marx at the Bridge

Showtime at Millennium Stadium Cardiff, Amnesty Benefit Concert

The Tall Guy

The History Boys – Tony Award

Sweeney Todd – WhatsOnStage Award

Showtime at the Millennium Stadium Cardiff – Welsh BAFTA

Olivier Award wins in 1992, 1995, 2000, 2002, 2010 and 2016

(Published June 2021)