Literary Department (Scripts)

The literary department is at the core of the artistic activity of the National Theatre and is the principal interface between the NT and writers. The department aims to identify, evaluate and recommend appropriate dramatic material to the Associate Directors and the Artistic Director to enable the construction and implementation of a programme of the highest possible quality and the broadest possible range.

This work of the department includes circulating scripts and copies of plays within the building; processing and assessing unsolicited submissions from the UK and recommended submissions from elsewhere; identifying and supporting emerging writing talent by offering play readings, workshops and attachment periods at the NT Studio; commissioning and developing new plays and adaptations from more experienced writers; commissioning new translations of classic plays from the world repertoire and contemporary work from non-English speaking cultures; and continuously scrutinising the playwriting canon to rediscover the great and neglected plays which need to be revived.

The department maintains active contact with other theatres, literary agents, producers and theatre professionals of all kinds and is in constant dialogue both internally and externally about what should be on our stages.

The Literary Department of the National Theatre comprises:

Sebastian Born, Associate Director (Literary)
Brian Walters, Deputy Literary Manager 
Tom Lyons, Assistant Literary Manager
Sarah Clarke, Literary Administrator
Claire Sclater, Literary Contracts Manager

We are happy to receive and consider unsolicited scripts from the UK and Ireland. We do not accept or consider synopses or treatments, just full script submissions. Scripts should be sent in hard copy with a covering letter to Sebastian Born at the NT's usual postal address with an SAE for their return, if desired. We cannot accept submissions by email.

National Theatre,
South Bank,

Please contact Sarah Clarke on with any further enquiries.